Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good Afternoon all, it’s Liza the Owner of The Wandering Path. I know it’s been forever since I have posted a rambling via the blog and I do apologize. The last few months have been a scramble to learn a new balance as I now work six days a week…and I admit it was wearing me out. It is important to incorporate things that relax, inspire, and rejuvenate your sense of self. I was way overdue for a bit of exploration…so I decided to take a Wander Weekend on my birthday weekend.

Most people nowadays research places and decide where they are going. I had a general idea…to leave the State of Florida…and my last few vacations I had taken, I had always ended up in Georgia…so…why not head that way. I took a Rand McNally map with me (don’t fret, I did use my Garmin when I had a destination & to make sure I could head home easily) but I just took off…and as I headed to where I’d be heading North…during a stop to get gas..I took out my Pendulum…and put it over the map…and asked where I should head. Video of how I chose is here if you were curious (linked to Facebook upload). 

For those that would ask, “why not take a plane?” My answer to that is…then I couldn’t enjoy the journey…there are things you see on a road trip. The sights of the trees, flowers, fields, buildings, road signs…all things that make the trip & the disconnect from stress happen for me…also, people I have small conversations with while picking up a cup of a coffee (a nice trucker that I met while standing to get coffee..we both stared at that machine with longing looks….for that indicator light to switch on that it was “fully brewed”…he even commented to me that it was nice to talk to someone who wasn’t in such a bad mood…I just remarked… “nah we can smell the coffee so sure makes that grumpiness fade away knowing we’ll have it soon”…it was about 4 am).

I also saw signs of places I should head to locally…heck I never realized I had a Winery so close…different type of attractions to explore (State Parks with cool things…see next posts) …or even the desire to stop and just take a picture at the Jelly Stone Park sign on my way back (which I would have had a Florida “no see” rain shower not occurred on my way back….so next time). I also allowed memories to flow…through singing along to music (yeah can’t belt out tunes on a plane without either being really good or looked at like you’re just a nutter) as well as reminders of those that have passed…need to stop at Vernon, FL and see what that’s about…(my beloved Grandfather’s name) and I even saw a sign for a street that was his last name an hour or so later…so I like to think of it as his way of saying “hi”….I even talked to both of my Grandfathers who have passed, who were both farmers, about guessing what crops were growing as I drove passed…no, they didn’t answer back but doesn’t stop me from being curious whether my guesses were right….don’t get me wrong, I can spot a cornfield but what they grow down here…I haven’t got a clue whether or not it was a soybean field…my best guess since the layout was so low..ha!

Why think about things like that….talk out loud; sing; be curious about “what” something is….who built what…because it’s just FUN…and a reminder of childhood; good memories; bringing about things of joy. Jelly Stone Park….Yogi..Boo-Boo…for those that don’t know the simple joy in silly adventures….put down the “made to dazzle you with bells, whistles, sparkly lights” and use your own eyes and curiosity and see if you enjoy it better. Okay…sorry for the personal frustration ramble…back to the Wander Weekend recap.

Day One: Where did the Pendulum land? Well I got my “yes” indicator over a Southeast island and the name intrigued me…Jekyll Island. I had a vague recollection of seeing a driftwood photograph I liked with that location on it…but I was not prepared for what I found. Jekyll Island…besides being beautiful is chock full of things to do…after paying the small entrance fee (can you believe it? $6 for the day…SCORE)

I took in the beauty of the wildflowers that grew along the drive out to the island part…but I knew I was in for something when I spotted…what? a waterslide? off to the right….and so much more….well I won’t go into too much detail but instead tell you which portion I did end up at…it should be no surprise but I was drawn to the Historical section.

Pulling in…large groves of Oak Moss trees…older buildings with history.

DSC_0003

I did visit the Book store; the Art Gallery (local pottery…it was so hard not to buy something) and even the Sweet Shoppe (where I got some great sherbet for a bargain price and wished I could’ve taken home some fudge but….too long a drive in the Florida heat.)

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

DSC_0028

I did decide to leave the Glass Blowing shop & Turtle sanctuary and other buildings for another trip as I knew I wouldn’t be able to pass up taking home something unique from the Glass shop hehe. I did do a nice stroll on the Atlantic Beach and walk thru the surf although I did not walk down far enough to get to the Driftwood….(again another reason to return).

DSC_0029

DSC_0036

DSC_0046

This place is definitely on my “need to go back” list and explore further…and perhaps try to stay in one of the many hotels that are on the island. Thank you to my higher self for telling me via my Pendulum a perfect place to go to start my de-stress birthday Wander Weekend.

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0026

DSC_0023

–Blessings to you all & here is to hoping you find your own way to Wander Happy & find new places to Explore. Liza M; Owner, The Wandering Path LLC.

