Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good Afternoon all, it’s Liza the Owner of The Wandering Path. Well funds are little low this week but my need for a Wander Wednesday was stronger. The Pendulum chose for me to go to someplace close…Blackwater River State Park.

Normally, I don’t go there as it is so close…usually full of people etc…and yes, I did ask the Pendulum about other locations to go to…and it gave me “NO” on those…and pretty strong ones so off to Blackwater I went. It was a nice easy drive and less than an hour away.

I arrived and the first parking lot I saw was empty and so I backed into a space that was actually further away from the pay box (it’s honor system style…it’s $4 to enter and of course I always pay it as it’s more than worth it). I get out of my vehicle and silence of nature welcomes me. You hear the insects and birds…the sound of the river flowing and that was all.

The park was not completely empty as some motorbikes and campers went by but that is to be expected as this location is big for fishing, canoeing, biking, hiking, etc… Unlike the other parks the signs for the trail entrances are not readily evident so I did take an information map and as I walked back to my SUV I noticed something interesting. I had chosen to park…right in front of a tree shaped in a giant Y…and the only one in the parking lot that also happened to be white bark and the sun was peeking thru…so I admit I took a shot and put it up on Instagram with the caption “Gimme a Y!”

img_20160907_0839491

I knew then that the Pendulum, my conduit to my higher self, chose well and this hike was going to be good. I did take a shot of the bridge that I could have chosen to cross until I noticed a trail entrance and…its atmosphere beckoned for me to head that way. Path to explore chosen.

dsc_0356

Before I started though I got a tiny detour by an older gentleman with a lovely white beard riding a bicycle. He commented on the weather (a nice high 70’s, low 80’s…great weather in this normally balmy south) and he was in the mood to talk about many things…where the rides his bicycle to….how taking his doctors advice has actually been really good for him (it’s why he started riding) and he even divulged some things from his personal background. As we ended our conversation I entered the trail ahead while he continued on his 8 mile ride…so never think you’re too old or too outta shape to start exploring…he started riding that bike when he was near 300 lbs and while yes he still carries some weight…it obviously has helped him with his physical health but also his mental well being.

The Chain of Lakes Nature trail begins by following the river with many side paths that you could use to pause at the rivers edge or some even to enter the water. You do have to watch how you walk as it is very root filled…which for me reminded me of the Aiea Loop Trail in Hawaii and the nice thing if you have never tried it…if you step properly it’s like a really really good foot massage.

The large driftwood/downed trees near the river’s edge made me so wish to come back and see if I can harvest any of it to build/carve/craft some things hehe. The small swampy areas brought forth images of fairy tales and overall it is a nice walk…with a few bits that yes you need to mind your foots; watch for the spider webs; but if you enter where I did the ending trail grade would make it okay if you are feeling a bit tired. The ending portions after you exit the river edge trail area is nice and open with a wide path bordered with flowers, bushes, butterflies and pine trees. Below are some more photos and I hope you enjoy them. BB!

–Here is to hoping you find your own way to Wander Happy & find new places to Explore. Liza M; Owner, The Wandering Path LLC.

 

 

